What is Defendant Location/Skip Tracing?
If you don't know where the defendant currently resides we can find that information through a process called Defendant Location, also known as Skip Tracing. A "Skip" is a colloquialism for a person who leaves a trail of debts and moves away in the hope of leaving without a trail. (There is always a trail) A Skip Tracer finds a Skip. As a California Registered Process Server we have legal access (BPC 7522(m)) to Law Enforcement grade data bases that the general public does not have access to. We also have authority to query the USPS for information such as Forwarding Addresses, if the person is still receiving mail at an address. In some cases where Substitute service
is allowed, this may be all the information needed to legally complete the service. These services
are billed by the hour.
Field Skip Tracing refers to locating a person to be served while in the "in the field", or while the process server is actually out serving the documents. There is an additional charge
for this service.
How much does it cost to do Defendant Location/Skip Tracing services?
The fee for Defendant Location/Skip tracing is $125 per hour/one hour minimum. This includes writing any necessary reports for diligence that may be required by the Judge. Typically, this doesn't take longer than an hour in most cases. However, some ...
What if I don't know the defendant's current residence address?
If you don't know where the defendant currently lives, not to worry. We are experts at locating defendants through various methods to include, but not limited to Defendant Location, also know as Skip Tracing. As Registered and Bonded Process Servers ...
What if the Defendant is AVOIDING service?
What do you do if the defendant is avoiding service? Unfortunately, a Process Server cannot force someone to open a door and in the State of California there is no consequence for avoiding service. But, do not fear, just because they are avoiding ...
How do I serve a Defendant's Claim and ORDER to Go to Small Claims Court?
A Defendant's Claim (SC-120) can be served in 2 ways, Personal Service or Substituted Service. Service must be made Personally on the Plaintiff/Cross-Defendant at least 5 days prior to the court hearing date, or served by Substituted Service and ...
Why Should I Use a Registered Process Server?
In the State of California anyone over the age of 18 who is not a party to the action (CCP 414.10) can serve legal process as long as they don't get paid more than 10 times a year. So you might ask yourself, "Why should I use a Registered Process ...